Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

To Name Jewish Delegates to Peace Conference

December 27, 1928
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

A sub-committee of four prominent American and European Jews were appointed by the executive committee of the Universal Religious Peace Conference.

Dr. J. L. Hertz, Chief Rabbi of Great Britain; Dr. Cyrus Adler, president of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America and of Dropsie College, Philadelphia; Dr. Stephen S. Wise, president of the Jewish Institute of Religion, New York; and Rabbi Isaac Rubenstein of Vilna, member of the Polish Senate, are the members of the sub-committee, charged with appointing sixty Jewish representatives to participate in a world congress on peace to be called in 1930. One thousand delegates are expected to attend, representing all religions.

Recommended from JTA