Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Bloch’s Symphony “america” Broadcast

January 14, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Ernest Bloch’s symphony, “America,” which won the prize offered by “Musical America,” and which was hailed on its presentation by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, was performed over the radio for the first time on Saturday night by the National Orchestra under the leadership of Walter Damrisch. A coast-to-coast “hook-up” of the National Broadcasting Company, linked 20 stations, bringing the music to the entire country.

The second movement of the symphony, called “Hours of Joy-Hours of Sorrow, 1861-1865,” was performed. The composition, termed by the famous Jewish composer an epic rhapsody, is dedicated to Abraham Lincoln and Wah Whitman.

Recommended from JTA