Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Make Public Personnel of Palestine Committee

May 27, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Board of Deputies at its meeting held yesterday afternoon, having before it the minutes of the Anglo-Jewish Conference on the Jewish Agency held on April 21, elected a Palestine Committee consisting of the President, O. E. d’Avigdor Goldsmid, the Vice-President, Lord Roths-child and Joseph Prag, the Treasurer, B. S. Straus, and Messrs. Lionel L. Cohen (United Synagogue). Rabbi Dr. Samuel Daiches (Leeds Beth Hamedrash), Councillor M. H. Davis (Federation of Synagogues). A. S. Diamond (Pontypridd). Dr. M. Epstein (United Synagogue). B. A. Fersht (Darlington), Councillor S. Finburgh (Manchester, North), Mrs. F. S. Franklin (Anglo Jewish Association), Ald. J. Genese (London, Spanish and Portguese), Cyril Q. Henriques (Nairobi), Nathalt Laski (Manchester, Great). Michael Levy (Association of Jewish Friendly Societies), Laurie Magnus (West London), Morris Myer (Cannon Street Road), Leonard Stein (Anglo-Jewish Association), and Elsley Zeitlyn (Cape Town).

Funeral services were held yesterday morning at Temple Israel for Marcus Heim, one of the founders of the Consolidated Exchange of which he was treasurer for many years, who died at his home, 685 West End Avenue, in his seventy-fifth year, late Thursday night of heart disease after an illness of several weeks.

He became identified with financial circles here in 1878. Besides being one of the founders of the Consolidated Exchange, he helped to organize the Petroleum Exchange at 18 Broadway. He was treasurer and a member of the board of directors of the Consolidated Exchange for a number of years. Born in Germany, he was brought here by his parents when an infant.

Mr. Heim is survived by his widow and a daughter.

Recommended from JTA