Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Six Tickets Compete in Zionist Delegates Elections in U. S

May 31, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Six tickets, representing all shades of opinion in the Zionist movement, will compete in the elections of the delegates to the forthcoming World Zionist Congress in Zurich, Switzerland. The election, which is the first in many years in the Zionist movement in America, will be held on Sunday, June 9. About forty delegates are to be chosen to represent the American Zionist constituency. Every Jew who pays the shekel, a fee of fifty cents, or any one who is a member of any Zionist organization or society is entitled to vote. In previous years no elections of delegates were held because the various parties within the Zionist movement in the United States agreed on a joint list. This year the election must be held because of the unwillingness of some of the labor groups to agree to a joint ticket. The tickets to be voted upon were published on an election ballot.

Ticket No. 1 contains the list of candidates of the Zionist Organization of America; ticket No. 2 that of the Mizrachi, orthodox Zionist Organization in America; ticket No. 3. that of the Hitachduth-Zeire-Zion Labor Party of America; ticket No. 4, the candidates representing the Jewish Socialist Labor party, Poale Zion of America; ticket No. 5, that of the Zionist-Revisionists: ticket No. 6, that of the American Zionist opposition group, designated on the ballot as “Herzl Zionists.”

The administration list contains 124 names and is headed by Louis Lipsky, Morris Rothenberg, Mrs. Edward Jacobs. Judge William M. Lewis, Max Shulman, of Chicago, Mrs. Rose Halpern, Brooklyn, Dr. Mordecai M. Kaplan, Elihu D. Stone, Rabbi A. H. Silver, Abraham Goldberg, Jacob Fishman, Mrs. Irma L. Lindheim, Mrs. Archibald Silverman, Dr. A. Coralnik, and others.

The Mizrachi list contains 93 names and is headed by Gedaliah Bublick, Rabbi Wolf Gold, Rabbi M. S. Margolies, Rabbi Israel Rosenberg and Dr. Bernard Revel.

The Hitachduth list contains 41 names and is headed by Dr. Chaim Arlesoroff and Chaim Greenberg of New York, and Dr. Martin Buber of Berlin.

The Poale Zion list contains 60 names and is headed by Berel Locker, New York.

The Zionist-Revisionist list contains 16 names and is headed by Vladimir Jabotinsky of Jerusalem, Mordecai Danziss of New York and Dr. S. E. Soskin of London.

The list of the “Herzl Zionists” contains 25 names and is headed by Judge Julian W. Mack of Chicago, Dr. Harry Friedenwald of Baltimore, Jacob De Haas of New York, Abraham Tulin of New York, Israel B. Brodie of Baltimore, Robert Szold and Samuel J. Rosensohn of New York, and others.

In a statement issued by Morris Rothenberg, acting president of the

(Continued on Page 4)

(Continued from Page 3)

Zionist Organization of America, all American Zionists are urged to vote for the list of delegates presented by the Zionist Organization of America, because “this list is composed exclusively of men and women favoring the Jewish Agency, and who will use all their efforts at Zurich to promote the unity of all forces in Jewry, for Palestine.”

The General Shekel Board has issued instructions for information to all voters, and for the Election Boards of each local Zionist group, who will conduct the elections. These instructions read as follows:

“1. Each local Election Board shall consist of members of all Zionist parties if such parties are in existence in the particular city. At the polling station at least one representative of each party or electoral group which has submitted a nomination list, shall sit on the Committee on Election Day, Sunday, June 9th, from 10 A.M. to 10 P.M.

“2. Each voter shall be requested to identify himself as one who is entitled to vote. The presentation of a Shekel receipt for 1929, or a membership card for 1929 of any Zionist party whose membership dues include the payment of the Shekel, shall be deemed sufficient proof of the right to vote. Membership cards issued by parties whose membership dues do not include the payment of the Shekel shall also be recognized by the Election Board if said membership card has been marked by the local representative of the particular party that the Shekel has been paid. After the voter has cast his vote, his Shekel receipt or membership card shall be stamped: ‘Voted.’

“3. Each voter shall be registered before casting his vote, his name, address, number of Shekel or membership card being taken down. A copy of the list of names of all voters shall be forwarded to the Central Election Board for the U. S. A., Ill Fifth Avenue, New York City.

“4. The election returns (printed forms for which will be forwarded to all local Election Boards) shall indicate the exact number of votes cast for each party, and signed by all officers of the local Election Board. The returns, properly sealed, shall then be forwarded to the Central Election Board in New York and are to be mailed not later than three days after Election Day.

“5. Each local Election Board shall make public in a proper way the place and date of the elections. Protest against any election must be in the hands of the Central Election Board not later than June 23rd. Complaints received by the Central Election Board after that date will not be considered.”

The Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies announced plans for a membership extension program so the Jewish charities bodies in New York might have “a member in every Jewish home,” following a meeting of the organization at the Hotel Pennsylvania. It is hoped to increase the Federation membership from 32,000 to 50,000.

Recommended from JTA