Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

14 Jews Elected to House of Commons

June 3, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Fourteen Jews were elected to the House of Commons in the elections which have just taken place in England. The Liberal Party gained three prominent Jews in Parliament in the persons of Sir Herbert Samuel, James Rothschild and Major H. L. Nathan. All previous Jewish members of Parliament were re-elected with the exception of E. A. Straus, Liberal, and Samuel Finbeurgh, Conservative, who did not seek re-election.

The Labor Party gained a Jewish member, Dr. G. Spero. Three Jews now represent the Labor Party in Parliament. There were twenty-five candidates for election on the Labor ticket who failed to gain seats, among them Leonard Stein and Philip Guedalla.

Recommended from JTA