Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

George M. Lipman Elected Pacific Coast Bnai Brith President

June 27, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

George M. Lipman of San Francisco was elected president of District Grand Lodge No. 4. Independent Order B’nai Brith, at the concluding session of its sixth annual convention held at the Hotel Oakland here. Mr. Lipman succeeds Rabbi Edgar F. Magnin. Rabbi Samuel Koch of Seattle was chosen first vice-president; Sig Lipman of Los Angeles, second vice-president. Joseph Goldsmith of San Francisco, treasurer, Richard Gutstadt of San Francisco, executive director.

To the general committee were elected Harry K. Wolff, San Francisco, Isadore Golden, San Francisco; Maurice Rapheld, San Francisco; Alex Weinstein, Portland; Henry Weinberger, San Francisco, David Blumberg, Santa Monica; Leon Diamond, Fresno; Edgar C. Levey, San Francisco; Bernard Silverstein, Oakland; J. J. Findling, San Francisco.

San Diego was selected as the place for the next annual convention. In resolutions adopted the Grand Lodge endorsed the work of the Anti-Defamation League of the Order, pledging greater help toward it. Cooperation of the Order in religious school work and in holiday ceremonies was also urged.

Mrs. Birdie Stodell of Los Angeles was re-elected president of the Women’s Grand Lodge. Other officers of the women’s auxiliary were also re-elected.

Daniel W. Hone of Unity Lodge, San Francisco, won the oratory contest at the public session of the Grand Lodge. Twelve contestants competed for the cup which now becomes the property of Unity Lodge. The subject was “Why every eligible Jew should join the B’nai Brith.”

Dr. Boris D. Bogen, executive secretary of the Independent Order B’nai Brith, was the principal speaker at a banquet held last night following election of officers. Sixteen delegates to the Constitution Grand Lodge 1930 convention were chosen.

Recommended from JTA