Ochs Elected Honorary Head of N. Y. Reform Congregations
Menu JTA Search

Ochs Elected Honorary Head of N. Y. Reform Congregations

Download PDF for this date

Adolph S. Ochs, publisher of the New York “Times,” was elected honorary president, and Judge Irving Lehman of the Court of Appeals was made an honorary vice-president of the Metropolitan Association of Reform Jewish Congregations, at a meeting of the association Monday night at Temple Emanu-El. Judge Lehman succeeds the late Louis Marshall in this office, just as he succeeded Mr. Marshall to the office of president of Congregation Emanu-El at the time of the latter’s death in September.

Other honorary vice-presidents elected at the meeting were Meier Steinbrink, Dr. Lee K. Frankel and Albert M. Levi. Sydney H. Herman was elected president and Max L. Schallek, David M. Bressler, Ludwig Vogelstein and Judge Mitchell May the vice-presidents. Rabbi Jacob B. Pollak was elected secretary and the following were chosen as the executive committee: Maurice Blumenthal. H. Louis Jacobson, Nathaniel H. Lyons, Seymour Mork, Dr. Nathan Stern, S. H. Sternberg, Dr. S. S. Tedesche, Henry M. Toch, Benjamin Veit, Harry N. Wessel and Dr. Jonah B. Wise.

Uniformity in Sunday school curricula and the problem of bringing the Reform congregations in the Metropolitan area into closer relationship were discussed at the meeting. Many delegates expressed themselves as opposed to a strict uniformity in the conduct of the Sunday schools.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund