Jewish Council Leaders Chosen for Religious Program
Menu JTA Search

Jewish Council Leaders Chosen for Religious Program

Download PDF for this date

The plans of the Department of Religion and Religious Education, of the National Council of Jewish Women, as announced by its national chairman, Mrs. Albert Gerst of Norfolk, Virginia, will include the members of the Council sections, the state and interstate conferences, and the communities or districts that lack facilities for such activities.

The following women have been named to direct the various activities of the Council’s department: Religious Observances and Suggestions, Mrs. Albert Gerst of Norfolk, Va.; Work Among Members, Including Bible Classes and Study Circles, Mrs. Aaron S. Kohler of Savannah, and Mrs. David Rothschild of Columbia, Ga.; Religious Education, Mrs. Ellie Marcus Marx of Norfolk, Va.; Meetings of the Sections, Mrs. Jerome Mayer of Hartford, Conn.; Programs for State and Interstate Conferences, Mrs. Marcus H. Feuchtwanger of New Castle, Pa.; Work in the Community, Mrs. Isaac Born of Indianapolis, Ind.; Reciprocity Bureau, Mrs. Max Michaelson of Denver, Colo.; Religious Problems of Large Sections, Mrs. N. H. Whitman of Brookline, Mass.; Religious Problems of Small Sections, Mrs. Henry Brasch of Tampa, Fla., and Contests, Mrs. Florine H. Wolfstein of Los Angeles, Calif.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund