Final Returns Show Not One Independent Jew Elected to Polish Senate; 6 in Sejm
Menu JTA Search

Final Returns Show Not One Independent Jew Elected to Polish Senate; 6 in Sejm

Download PDF for this date

Final returns from Sunday elections show that Dr. Dov Shreiber, Zionist candidate for the Senate from Lemberg, was not elected. Early returns had indicated that he had won. His defeat means that for the first time since the reestablishment of Poland there will not be a single independent Jew in the Senate. The only Jewish senator will be Ascher Mendelsohn, Agudist, who was elected on the government bloc. For reasons of party discipline he will be unable to join the Jewish Parliamentary Club.

When the newly-elected Sejm convenes there will be only six independent Jews in parliament. Although seven Zionists were believed to have been elected to the Sejm, Benjamin Russ, Zionist candidate from Kalisz, lost his mandate at the last moment to a National Democrat. The six independent Jewish deputies in the new Sejm compare with 11 in the first Sejm, 46 in the second, and 19 in the third.

The failure of the Jews to elect more independent candidates in the Sejm and Senate elections has aroused bitter recriminations among the various Jewish parties who are blaming each other for the election results. The Jewish population as a whole is sadly disappointed and lays the results to the split in the Jewish vote which was divided among five parties.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund