Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Justice Lehman Reelected President of Temple Emanu-el

December 17, 1930
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

At the annual meeting of Congregation Emanu-El on Monday night, Justice Irving Lehman of the State Court of Appeals was re-elected president, and Sydney H. Herman and William I. Spiegelberg, the two vice-presidents, were also re-elected. The following six trustees, each for a three-year term, were elected: M. Herman, Justice Lehman, Edward Schafer, Lionel F. Straus, Gerald F. Warburg and Arthur Zinn.

In his annual report Justice Lehman declared that the congregation can find ground for satisfaction in much of its work during the past year, but that this “must not blind us to the fact that our opportunity requires of us even more than we have achieved.” The value of the community house activities of Congregation Emanu-El was emphasized in Justice Lehman’s report.

Recommended from JTA