The United States Congressional O.r.t. Committee
Menu JTA Search

The United States Congressional O.r.t. Committee

Download PDF for this date

The formation of a Congressional Committee similar to the Parliamentary Advisory Committee, under the chairmanship of Lord Marloy in England, organised to assist the work of the O.R.T., was announced (as briefly reported by cable in the J.T.A. Bulletin of the 18th. inst.) by Dr. Henry Moscowitz, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the People’s O.R.T. Federation, at a dinner given here last night at the Hotel Commodore in honour of Dr. Singalovsky, one of the leaders of the O.R.T. world movement, who is now in America on behalf of the Organisation. The Committee is to be headed by Senator Robert F. Wagner.

The members of the Committee are Senators William H. King, James E. Watson, Lynn J. Frazier, Smith W. Brookhart, Purton M. Wheeler, Royal S. Copeland, Charles L. McNary, J. Familton Lewis, Arthur Capper, Robert J. Bulkley, Morris Sheppard, and### Elmer Thomas, and Congressmen Emanuel Celler, William P. Cole, Jr., Clarence F. Lea, Joseph A. Cavagan, Harry L. Fains, Fobert H. Clancy, James ###ead, James L. Whitley, Edmund F. Cocke, Samuel Dickstein, Benjamin M. Golder, Mary T. Norton, Thomas H. Cullen, William H. Dietrich and Byron B. Harlan. Congressmen Celler, Golder and Dickstein are Jews.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund