Synagogue Group to Act for United Leadership in American Jewry
Menu JTA Search

Synagogue Group to Act for United Leadership in American Jewry

Download PDF for this date

Louis J. Moss was re-elected President of the United Synagogue of America at the closing sessions of the convention held here at the Hotel Pennsylvania. The remaining officers will be elected by the executive council of the organization at its next meeting.

Matters varying from the persecution of the Jews in Germany to birth control were discussed at the final meeting. A series of resolutions were adopted, one of them deploring “the division within the recognized leadership of American Israel” in the matter of the German situation. The resolution provides for the appointment of a committee to work towards a “united leadership for our people.”

Another angle towards the solution of the problem of German Jewry was approached in a resolution which urged the adoption “on the part of England of a more liberal policy with reference to immigration into Palestine of Jewish refugees from Germany.”

The convention also went on record as indorsing the program of social justice, outlined by the special committee of the United Synagogue. A supplementary resolution calls upon the incoming social justice committee “that it study the question of birth control and present definite recommendations on the subject at its next convention.”

A final resolution deplored the practice of some congregations engaging as rabbis those who have never been duly ordained by recognized rabbinical institutions.

The affiliated Women’s League of the United Synagogue also adopted a number of resolutions, one of them, with reference to the German situation, voicing full confidence in the work of the American Jewish Committee.

Another resolution touching the same topic called upon “constituent Sisterhoods to agree to impose upon themselves a self-denying ordinance and determine in spite of difficulties to make personal sacrifices in order to be able to forward monies to the Joint Distribution Committee for Germany.”

Still another resolution voiced regret at the chaos existing in the kosher meat business.

Mrs. Samuel Spiegel was elected President of the Women’s League. Other officers chosen were: honorary vice-president, Mrs. Charles I. Hoffman, Newark; vice-presidents, Mrs. Cyrus Adler, Philadelphia; Mrs. Benjamin Davis, Chicago; Miss Sarah Kussy, Newark, and Mrs. Joseph Herzog, Mrs. Morris Lurie, Mrs. Alexander Marx and Mrs. Israel Davidson, all of New York. Mrs. David Kass, of New York, was chosen recording secretary; Mrs. Jacob Minkin, New York, corresponding secretary, and Mrs. Elias Solomon, New York, treasurer.

Theodore Charnas was elected President of the Federation of Men’s Clubs affiliated with the United Synagogue.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund