New Synagogue Dedicated by Pittsburgh Jewry
Menu JTA Search

New Synagogue Dedicated by Pittsburgh Jewry

Download PDF for this date

More than 300 members of the Shaarey Tephillah Synagogue, 23 Miller Street, attended the dedication of the new building. The synagogue had been destroyed by fire last spring.

A solemn procession carried the holy scrolls from the Congregation Mogan David Synagogue, next door, into the new building. They had been kept in the latter synagogue since the fire.

The feature of the opening was a musical program given by Rev. J. Waid, Rev. Julius Bloom, Rev. B. Kimmel and Sam Cohen and his orchestra. The principal addresses were delivered by Judge Benjamin Lencher and Mayor John S. Herron.

Officers of the congregation who took part in the celebration were Rabbi Samuel Hausman, teacher; Abraham Pechersky, president; Samuel Kofsky, vice-president; Harry Mosenson, secretary; R. B. Camel, treasurer, and Jacob Waid, cantor.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund