Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Accept Plans to Reorganize N. J. Activities

April 9, 1934
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

A complete reorganization plan for the New Jersey Branch of the United Synagogue of America was accepted here today by 125 members meeting at the fifth annual convention at Temple Emanuel. Delegates representing synagogues throughout the State were in attendance.

The plan, presented by Rabbi Benjamin Plotkin of Congregation Emanuel, Jersey City, who later was elected president of the New Jersey organization, completely centralizes the activities of the New Jersey Branch in a group of newly-formed committees.

“World events are bringing home to men and women of religious and humanitarian impulses the need of reorganization, of new strategy and of new machinery in the struggle for peace, justice and brotherhood,” Rabbi Plotkin declared.


The plan calls for the establishment of an administration committee which will meet each month at the Y.M.H.A. in Newark, and the following other committees:

An executive council, including representatives from every congregation in the branch, which will meet three times a year in different places and receive reports of the administration committee.

A committee on organization, extension and propaganda.

A committee on public affairs, which will deal with social justice, peace and inter-racial – relationships.

A committee on youth and adult education.

A committee on Jewish law and conciliation.

A rabbinical council, which will be the religious authority for the branch.

A rituals committee, which will seek to improve religious services.

The plan also calls for state organizations of men’s clubs, young people’s leagues and junior congregations of the state.

A proposal that the branch be divided regionally was accepted. The plan concluded with the urgent suggestion that a permanent field director be appointed.

Rabbis Charles I. Hoffman declined the nomination for president of the branch after devoting the last five years as its leader. Rabbi Plotkin was elected president.

Other officers elected were Morris B. Sherman, Orange, first vice-president; Ira T. Schwarz, Newark, second vice-president; George Gold, Paterson, third vice-president; Elias Shapiro, Jersey City, secretary; Samuel Schechner, Newark, treasurer, and William Raphael, Hillside, chairman of the executive council.

Recommended from JTA