Wineman Chosen to Head Campaign
Menu JTA Search

Wineman Chosen to Head Campaign

Download PDF for this date

Henry Wineman was elected chairman of the 1934 Allied Jewish Campaign at a meeting of the board of the Detroit Service Group held yesterday. The drive will be conducted from May 27 to June 7.

Mr. Wineman, who is chairman of the board of the Jewish Welfare Federation and is well known for his leadership in philanthropic and fund-raising efforts in Detroit’s Jewish community, was named to head this year’s campaign for $175,000 for local, national and international causes by a nominating committee consisting of Melville S. Welt, chairman, Fred A. Ginsburg, Judge Harry B. Keidan, and Clarence H. Enggass.

The Service Group board also chose four associate chairman, Leo M. Butzel, Aaron DeRoy, Nate S. Shapero and Melville S. Welt. They will be assisted by captains Fred M.Butzel, Mrs. Joseph H. Ehrlich, Max Finkelston, Adolph Finsterwald, Fred A. Ginsburg, Mrs. Samuel R. Glogower, Israel Himelhoch, Dr. Samuel J. Lewis, Mrs. Meyer L. Prentis, and Mrs. Henry Wineman.

Vice chairmen who will aid Mr. Wineman in directing the work of the campaign are Rabbi Moses Fischer, Dr. Leo M. Franklin, Dr. A. M. Hershman, Jesse F. Hirschman, Judgeg Harry B. Keidan, Julian H. Krolik, Jacob Mazer, Isaac Shetzer, Leo Siegel, Judge Charles C. Simons.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund