E. Rabinowitz Quits Post in Anti-nazi Unit
Menu JTA Search

E. Rabinowitz Quits Post in Anti-nazi Unit

Download PDF for this date

Resignation of Ezekiel Rabinowitz as secretary of the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League was announced Friday at the offices of the League. Rabinowitz had been secretary of the League since its inception a year and a half ago and was a leader of the small group of men who organized the movement to boycott Nazi goods in this country. The League was originally known as the American League for the Defense of Human Rights and was later reorganized along non-sectarian lines as the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League.

Mr. Rabinowitz will continue as a member of the board of directors. He was instrumental in interesting outstanding figures in American life in the boycott movement. In a statement made by Samuel Untermyer, president of the League, tribute was paid to Mr. Rabinowitz’s contribution to the anti-Nazi cause. Mr. Untermyer declared:

“In connection with Mr. Rabinowitz’s resignation as secretary, I want to take this opportunity on behalf of and by the unanimous direction of our board of directors to express our sincere regret at his resignation and our deep appreciation of the splendid, untiring, unselfish services he has performed and to which he has uninterruptedly devoted days and nights.

“I am glad to feel that he will continue as a member of the board of directors and shall hope for his continued cooperation in the work he has done so much to create.”

Mr. Rabinowitz has been active in Jewish journalistic and organizational work for nearly a quarter of a century. He studied law in Constantinople and while there was correspondent for several New York papers.

He has been active in Zionist circles and was at one time assistant editor of the official Zionist publication, The Jewish People, and later became editor of the Zionist labor paper, For the People.

Prior to his post with the League he was executive Director of the American Ort.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund