Young Judaea Elects Sameth New York Head
Menu JTA Search

Young Judaea Elects Sameth New York Head

Download PDF for this date

Two hundred delegates, visitors and guests yesterday attended the annual convention of the New York City Young Judaea at the Young Men’s Hebrew Association, Lexington avenue and 92nd street.

Officers elected were: Herman Sameth, president; Sonia Dingol and Arnold Lasker, vice-presidents; Yetta Hershkowitz, secretary and M. Raphael, treasurer. The following members of the administrative board were also chosen: Theresa Engelman, Ellen Feingold, Arthur Fischman, Margaret Greenfield, Sidney Guthman, Beatrice Kartzovnick, David Levine, Sol Mallin, Irving Plant, Frieda Port, Mrs. Wilma Schwabacher and Bayla Wixman.

An increase of membership was reported at the morning session. Greetings from Governor Lehman, Mayor LaGuardia and other dignitaries were read during the afternoon. An informal dance was held in the evening.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund