Delegates Chosen at Zionist Parley
Menu JTA Search

Delegates Chosen at Zionist Parley

Download PDF for this date

Representatives of more than 500 Jewish organizations gathered at the Hotel Astor yesterday afternoon and elected seventeen dele-gates-at-large to the forthcoming American Zionist conference on Palestine affairs at Washington January 20. In addition, each organization will be entitled to one delegate for every 200 members they enroll in the Zionist roll call, it was announced.

“The present crisis in Jewish life demands that all Jews, regardless of their views on Zionism, unite in the upbuilding of Palestine,” Morris Rothenberg, president of the Zionist Organization of America and principal speaker, told the conference.

Mr. Rothenberg also declared that “a majority of the Jews of America have not contributed as yet to the upbuilding of Palestine.

“It is only through such organizations as yours that we can appeal to American Jewry,” he added.

Among other speakers were Jacob Fishman, Isaac Carmel, Hyman J. Reit and Morris Margulies. Judge Benjamin Greenspan presided.

Barney Aaron, “The Star of the East,” was awarded the decision over Dick Hares in 1826 after 43 rounds of a prize fight in London.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund