Order Reelects Max Silverstein to Presidency
Menu JTA Search

Order Reelects Max Silverstein to Presidency

Download PDF for this date

Max Silverstein was reelected Grand Master of the Independent Order Brith Abraham at the forty-eighth annual convention of the Order which concluded its three-day session at the Garden Pier Theatre here today.

The next convention will be held in Saratoga Springs, it was announced at the closing session.

A resolution expressing thanks to the Jewish Daily Bulletin and to the English and the Yiddish press for the cooperation given to the Order before and during the convention was adopted by the delegates. Another resolution urges the Order fully to identify itself with the activities of the American Jewish Congress.


Other resolutions adopted provide for assisting the Jewish upbuilding work in Palestine, for helping the Yeshiva College in New York and for preparations to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the Order in 1937.

The convention also resolved to support the Hadassah, the ORT, the United Jewish Appeal, the Jewish National Fund and the Hebrew University in Jerusalem.

A resolution condemning the Nazi persecutions of Jews in Germany and urging the American people to join in the anti-Nazi boycott, was also adopted.

The newly elected Administration of the Order was authorized to call a conference of representatives of all Jewish organizations in America in order to create a united Jewish front.

The new administration elected by the convention consists of the following deputy grand masters, ranking in the order named: Samuel Goldstein, Samuel Kalesky, Harry Hotz, Joseph Bohrer, Jacob W. Schwartz, Hyman Jacobs, William Bleich, Charles H. Sternfeld and Morris Lewis.

Max L. Hollander was reelected grand secretary. Louis S. Goldstein was elected grand treasurer and George Rader, grand trustee.

The other officers are: chairman of finance, Alexander Goldberg; chairman of endowment, Max D. Frant; treasurer of endowment, Adolph Teitelbaum; chairman of law, Isidore H. Fox; chairman of appeals, Harold Frankel; chairman, state of order, Jacob Goldhirsch; chairman of printing, Adolph Jablinowski; chairman of relief, Hyman Bloch; chairman of rituals, William Bluestein; chairman of supplies, Julius Grabel; chairman of disabilities, Charles Krauss.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund