Merging of Race Held Futile As a Curb on Anti-semitism
Menu JTA Search

Merging of Race Held Futile As a Curb on Anti-semitism

Download PDF for this date

Hygiene in Albany refuted the contention of some scientists that mental illness is greater among Jews than among non-Jews. On the basis of statistics which he compiled, Dr. Malzberg demonstrated that there is a lower percentage of mental disease among Jews than non-Jews, especially in insanity due to alcoholism and venereal diseases.


Dr. John Slawson, executive director of the Jewish Board of Guardians in New York, read a paper showing that the type of child coming into child care institutions now will require a different type of home than the present orphan home, because most of the children coming into homes now are not orphans.

Dr. Harry L. Lurie of New York, Dr. Charles S. Bernheimer, Philip L. Klein, Miss Blanch Renard and Graenum Berger were among those who discussed the coordination of Jewish community life and community effort in various fields, including social service and case work on one hand, and broader tasks involving the entire Jewish community on the other.

The National Conference of Jewish Social Service today concluded its four-day session, electing Harry L. Glucksman of New York president.

Maurice Taylor of Boston, Samnel C. Kohs of New York and Ben Rosen of Philadelphia were elected vice-president. Michael Freund was elected secretary and Joseph Willen, treasurer.

The conference voted to meet next year in Washington. A standing vote of condolence at the death of Jane Addams was passed unanimously.

The new Executive elected consists of John Slawson, Harry M. Lurie, Jacob S. Golub, Ben M. Selekman, Jacob Billikopf, Jacob Fisher, William Hirsch, Mrs. Anna Kaplun, Marcel Kovarsky, E. J. Londow ond I. M. Rubinow.

The National Association of Jewish Center Executives yesterday elected the following officers: William Cohen, Baltimore, president; Allan Blom, Indianapolis, Samuel Shair, Scranton, Louis Sobel, Detroit and Herman Jacobs, New York, vice-presidents. Isidore Beierfeld of Yonkers was elected secretary. The Executive Committee consists of Moses W. Beckelman, Graenum Berger, Miss Miriam Ephraim, Meyer Fischman, Dr. Philip Goldstein, Julian L. Greifer, Samuel Greifer, Samuel Levine, Benjamin Rabinowitz, Edward Kahn, Samuel Jasolowitz and George Peiser.

The National Council of Jewish Education elected Jacob S. Golub of Harrisburg, Pa., president. Bernard Isaacs of Detroit was elected vice-president, Israel Eisenberg of New York, secretary, and Rabbi Barnett R. Brickner of Cleveland, treasurer.

The new executive committee consists of A. A. Abrams, Dr. S. Benderly, I. S. Chipkin, Samuel Dinin, D M. Edidin, A. H. Friedland, E. Gamoran, L Gordon, L. Honor, Louis Hurwich, I. N. Brilliant, L. L. Kaplan, Mordecai M. Kaplan. Ben Rosen, Zvi Scharfstein, A. P. Schoolman and Mordecai Soltes.

Ben Rosen was elected editor of Jewish Education. L. L. Kaplan was appointed business manager.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund