Report Other Nations Will Enforce Reich Marriage Laws
Menu JTA Search

Report Other Nations Will Enforce Reich Marriage Laws

Download PDF for this date

The law prohibiting German citizens residing abroad to marry Jews will, in addition to Holland, be enforced in Luxenbourg, Belgium, France, Rumania and Sweden, it was stated here today, because these countries are all signatories to the General International Convention on Marriages entered into at the Hague, June 12, 1902.

According to the pact, the citizens of one country are still subject to the marriage laws of that country even though they may be residing abroad.

Because of this provision considerable confusion was created last week in Holland, where a Marriage Registration Bureau had refused to issue a lisence to a German-Jew who wanted to marry an “aryan” woman in Holland, on the ground that the new Reich legislation enacted September 15, prohibits intermarriage between “aryans” and Jews.

A report issued here today states that Poland, Hungary, Italy and Danzig, will also be asked to abide by this law because of similar pacts between them and Germany.

German citizens residing in countries having no such pact with Germany, however, are not affected by the new race legislation.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund