Gladstein, Regelson, Jewish Authors Awarded Literary Prizes
Menu JTA Search

Gladstein, Regelson, Jewish Authors Awarded Literary Prizes

Download PDF for this date

Jacob Gladstein, a Yiddish author, and Abraham Regelson, A Hebrew essayist, were the recipients today of $250 each as the first prize winners for the best works written in Yiddish and Hebrew during 1940.

The prizes are awarded annually by the Louis Lamed Fund which has been established to encourage Jewish authors. Two second prizes of $100 each were awarded to Ephraim Auerbach, Yiddish writer, and to Dr. Israel Efros, Hebrew poet.

The first prize to Mr. Gladstein was given in recognition of his book “When Jash Came” written in Yiddish. The prize to Mr. Regelson was awarded for his book of Hebrew essays. Mr. Auerbach received the second prize for his book of Yiddish poems “Clear is the Old Well,” and Dr. Efros – for a Hebrew poem “Gold” which is still in manuscript. Dr. Efros is chairman of the Hebrew Department at Hunter College, here.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund