New Congress Will Have Seven Jewish Representatives, Final Returns Indicate
Menu JTA Search

New Congress Will Have Seven Jewish Representatives, Final Returns Indicate

Download PDF for this date

Two Jewish incumbents in the House of Representatives were defeated and a Jewish newcomer was elected, final returns from the Congressional elections throughout the nation indicated today. Since six Jewish representatives wore re-elected this will bring the total number of Jews in the 78th Congress to seven. There are no Jews in the Senate.

Daniel Ellison, Republican, defeated Joseph M. Wyatt in Baltimore’s fourth district, to become the first G.O.P. representative in the Maryland delegation since 1901, and the third Jew ever to represent that state in Congress. Leon Sacks, Pennsylvania Democrat, lost to his Republican opponent after six years of service, as did Hermann Paul Kopplemann, Democrat of Connecticut, who had served only one term.

Samuel Arthur Weiss, Glassport, Pa., Democrat, was re-elected by an increased majority in a normally Republican district. Sol Bloom, chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee, was returned by New York City’s 19th district and Samuel Dickstein, who heads the Immigration and Naturalization Committee, overwhelmed his opponent in the 12th, Also re-elected were Adolph J. Sabath of Chicago, chairman of the Rules Committee and Dean of the House, who will begin his 19th term, and Democrats Emanuel Celler and Arthur G. Klein of New York City.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund