Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

American Jewish Conference Allocates 125 Seats to Membership Organizations

July 19, 1943
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The executive committee for the organization of the American Jewish Conference today announced the allocation of 125 seats reserved for delegates of national membership organizations participating in the Conference. It also announced that organizations to which four seats had been granted tentatively, will receive only three each.

Among the organizations which received three seats are the American Jewish Committee, the American Jewish Congress, the B’nai B’rith, the Zionist Organization of America, the Free Sons of Israel, Independent Order Brith Abraham, Independent Order Brith Sholom, Jewish National Workers’ Alliance, Jewish War Veterans, Mizrachi Organization of America, National Council of Young Israel, National Federation of Temple Brotherhoods, Order Sons of Zion, Poale-Zion – Zeire-Zion, Union of American Hebrew Congregations, Union of Orthodox Congregations, United Synagogue of America.

National women’s organizations given three seats include the Hadassah, the Women’s Division of the American Jewish Congress, the Women’s Supreme Council of the B’nai B’rith, the Mizrachi Women’s Organization, the National Council of Jewish Women, the National Federation of Temple Sisterhoods, the Pioneer Women’s Organization, and the National Women’s League of the United Synagogue of America.

The Jewish Labor Committee and its affiliates were allotted 16 seats. Four seats were allotted jointly to thirteen Jewish youth organizations. Others, mostly orthodox groups, received two seats each while smaller organizations were given one seat each.

The National Election Board stated that approximately 25,000 electors, chosen by organizations and groups representing more than 1,500,000 members of more than 6,000 local Jewish organizations, cast their ballots in the election of delegates. Of the 375 delegates to be chosen by the electors, 374 have been elected. The remaining delegate is still to be chosen in Worcester, Mass., where the election has been delayed because of local conditions.

Recommended from JTA