Awards for Hebrew and Yiddish Literature Announced
Menu JTA Search

Awards for Hebrew and Yiddish Literature Announced

Download PDF for this date

The Louis Lamed Literary Foundation here announced today its third annual awards for the best works of Hebrew and Yiddish literature published during 1942. The winners, each of whom received $250, were B. Glazman, Yiddish novelist and short story writer, for his collection of short stories entitled “Fugitive and Wanderer”, I. J. Schwartz, Yiddish poet and translator, for his “Anthology of Hebrew Poetry” Isaac Silberschlag, Hebrew poet, for his poems, entitled “Rise World in Song”; and Menachem Ribalov, Hebrew essayist and literary critic, for his book of essays “Letters and Scrolls”.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund