Jewish Theological Seminary Awards Decrees to Weizmann, Capt. Strauss, and Dr. Kahle
Menu JTA Search

Jewish Theological Seminary Awards Decrees to Weizmann, Capt. Strauss, and Dr. Kahle

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Chaim Weizmann, president of the Jewish Agency for Palestine, Captain Lewis L. Strauss, USNR, and Dr. Paul Kahle, noted Bible student, were the recipients today of honorary degrees conferred upon them by the Jewish Theological Seminary of America at its commencement exercises.

Dr. Weizmann received the degree Doctor of Letters in absentia. In conferring the degree, Dr. Louis FinkeIstein, president of the Jewish Theological Seminary, stressed Dr. Weizmann’s outstanding work in the cause of democracy and his unceasing effort in behalf of the Jewish people.

Captain Strauss received the degree of Doctor of Laws. His self-effacing service in the last war as well as in this one were lauded. Doctor Kahle was awarded the degree of Doctor of Hebrew Letters in absentia for “invaluable contributions to the study of the Scriptures and the example he has set of the fulfilment their teachings.”

George Z. Medalie, president of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies, was given the Don Isaac Abravanel Award in appreciation of his service to the community. The second Louis Ginzberg Citation, established in 1943 for the outstanding contribution to Jewish religion and learning, was conferred upon Doctor Joseph Herman Hertz, Chief Rabbi of the British Empire for “his achievements as Rabbi, scholar and writer, which are recognized throughout the world by men of all creeds.” Doctor Raphael Isaacs, director of Haematology at the Michael Reese Hospital in Chicago, received the Moses Maimonides Citation for his “great contribution to our understanding of medical science.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund