Conference of Southwestern Jewish Communities Decides to Strengthen Local Organizations
Menu JTA Search

Conference of Southwestern Jewish Communities Decides to Strengthen Local Organizations

Download PDF for this date

The question of strengthening local Jewish communal organizations so that they can deal adequately with the responsibilities facing American Jewry dominated discussions at the annual conference of the Southwestern states region of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds which took place here this week, it was reported today.

The conference, which lasted two days, was the largest ever held in this area with 150 leaders from twenty-three cities in Oklahoma, Texas and northwest Louisiana participating. At the conclusion of the conference Norman Hirschfield of Oklahoma City was elected regional president. E.M. Solow of Dallas and Abe I. Lack of Houston were elected vice-presidents and Louis Fischl of Ardmore, treasurer.

The action taken by the delegates included establishment of continuing committees “to help strengthen democratic representation of local community organization;” and a call for community participation in the planning of capital fund raising campaigns which national health and welfare agencies are projecting. In the area of overseas relief and resettlement, the conference voted favorably on a recommendation urging the continuation of the United Jewish Appeal. The conference leaders also urged that President Truman’s appeal for the rescue of European Jewry be speedily implemented with concrete action. Also discussed by the delegates were regional social services for children and the aged and current trends in local organization and community relations.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund