Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

German Jews Establish Committee to Coordinate Communal Activities in Four Zones. Berlin

October 23, 1947
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

A five-man coordinating committee of the working executive of the Association of Jewish Communities of the four zones of Germany was established here late last night just prior to the adjournment of the committee’s three-day conference.

The five will include one representative each from the four zones and one from the Berlin community. In addition, it was decided to open an office in Frankfurt for the exchange of social, religious, educational, legal and cultural information and advice on problems. The executive will meet again next month in Bremen.

In a resolution on religious matters it was ruled that with certain exceptions persons who intermarried may not hold community office. The exceptions will be ruled upon by the rabbinate which will also pass upon applications to join the Jewish community. At present there are just three rabbis for the four zones and Berlin.

It was reported here that there are some 1,250 Jews now residing in Hanover of whom one-fifth are of German origin and the remainder refugees from Eastern Europe. The refugees live within the German community, but maintain their DP status in emigration matters. In the state of Niedersachsen, also in the British zone, there are about 3,000 Jews, exclusive of those in the Belsen camp. Other statistics reveal that there are 37 Jews living in Goetingen, 79 in Osnabrueck, 74 in Bielefeld and 104 in Krefeld.

Recommended from JTA