Leaders of National Groups Urge Parents to Send Their Children to Jewish Schools
Menu JTA Search

Leaders of National Groups Urge Parents to Send Their Children to Jewish Schools

Download PDF for this date

The presidents of 26 major national Jewish organizations today endorsed the Call to Jewish Parents” issued by the American Association for Jewish Education, which proclaims the period from September. 10 to October 11 as Jewish Education Month. Proclaimed annually by the A.A.J.E., Jewish Education Month is devoted to a nationwide campaign for the enrollment of children in all types of Jewish schools to give instruction in Jewish religion, culture and history.

The “Call” declares that Jewish education is essential for the child’s emotional and mental well-being, family and group associations, citizenship and spiritual development. It states that provision of this training is the obligation of Jewish parents. The endorsers of the “Call” include:

Maxwell Abbell, president, United Synagogue of America; Henry Albert, National Commander, Jewish War Veterans of the U.S.A.; Leon Arkin, president, workmen’s Circle; Samuel Bernholz, president; Hebrew Teachers Federation; Jacob Blaustein, president, American Jewish Committee; Samuel J. Borowsky, president, Histadrut Ivrit and National Council for Jewish Education; Benjamin G. Browdy, president, Zionist Organization of America; Irving Edison, president, National Jewish Welfare Board; Dr. Maurice N. Eisendrath, president, Union of American Hebrew Congregations; Maurice Finkelstein, acting president, Conference on Jewish Relations; Julian Freeman, president, Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds.

Also, Frank Goldman, president, B’nai B’rith; Mrs. Israel Goldstein, president, Pioneer Women; Mrs. Rose Halpern, president, Hadassah; Adolph Held, president, Jewish Labor Committee; Rabbi Ario S. Hyams, chairman, Commission on Jewish Education of the United Synagogue; Rabbi Simon G. Kramer, president, Synagogue Council of America; David Kulok, grand master, Free Sons of Israel; Dr. Joseph H. Lookstein, president, Mizrachi National Education Committee; Rabbi Irving Miller, president, American Jewish Congress; S. Niger, president, Congress for Jewish Culture; Dr. David de Sola Pool, president, Union of Sephardic Communities; Leopold J. Sneider, president, Jewish Reconstructionist Foundation; A. Walter Socolow, president, Society for the Advancement of Judaism, and Baruch Zuckerman, president, Labor Zionist Organization–Poale Zion.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund