Two Nobel Prize Winners Among Scientists Honored in Israel
Menu JTA Search

Two Nobel Prize Winners Among Scientists Honored in Israel

Download PDF for this date

Two Nobel Prize winners were among five scientists from various countries who yesterday received honorary fellowships from the Weizmann Institute of Science at Rehovoth as part of the observance of the first anniversary of the death of President Chaim Weizmann.

More than 1,000 persons witnessed the ceremony which honored Prof. Niels Bohr, Danish atomic pioneer, and Prof. Ernst Boris Chain, co-discoverer of penicillin–both Nobel Prize winners–as well as American scientists Prof. Herman Mark Prof. Linus C. Pauling and Dr. Francis Peyton Rous. A new biology and a new physics building at the Weizmann Institute were also dedicated today.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund