Four Jewish Writers Win Awards for Yiddish and Hebrew Books
Menu JTA Search

Four Jewish Writers Win Awards for Yiddish and Hebrew Books

Download PDF for this date

Four writers were awarded prizes of $500 each for works in Yiddish and Hebrew published in 1954 it was announced here this week-end by the Louis Lamed Literary Foundation. The four winners were B. Demblin and Melech Ravitch, whose works were in the Yiddish language, and Israel Efros and S. L. Blank, for Hebrew books.

The announcement marked the 15th annual award of prizes by the LaMed Foundation, which honors two Yiddish and two Hebrew books which appear each year in the Americas. The Yiddish prize winners were Mr. Demblin’s “Erev Nacht” (Before Night) and Mr. Ravitch’s “Die Lieder Fun Miene Lieder” (Selected Poems). Winners in the Hebrew Category were “Goral Upitom” (Fate and Suddenness) poems by Professor Efros, and Mr. Blank’s short stories “B marbolet Hahayim” (In the Whirl of Life)

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund