Academy for Liberal Judaism Starts Classes; Announces Faculty
Menu JTA Search

Academy for Liberal Judaism Starts Classes; Announces Faculty

Download PDF for this date

The Academy for Liberal Judaism, established to train and ordain Rabbis in New York City, began its classes yesterday, it was announced here today. Jacob S. Manheimer is president of the Academy’s board of trustees; Ira Frank, vice-chairman, and Henry Hofheimer, financial secretary. Rabbi Louis I. Newman is director of the Academy, and Rabbi David Neiman, its secretary.

Among the members of the faculty are Professor Cyrus H. Gordon, in Biblical Civilization; Professor Moses Hadas, in Hellenistic History and Literature; Dr. Shimeon Bernstein, in Medieval Hebrew Literature; Dr. Louis Schoffman, in Modern Hebrew Literature; Dr. Eugen Kullmann, in Jewish Philosophy; Dr. David Neiman, in Bible and Mishnaic Texts; Rabbi Edward E. Klein, in “Practical Rabbinics”; Rabbi Louis I. Newman, in “Homiletics”; Professor Elizabeth V. L. Stern, Voice and Speech; John Hezekiah Levy, Public Speaking; Cantor Gunter Hirschberg, Music and Liturgy; Mr. Max Feder, Synagogue Administration.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund