Two Israel Authors Receive Ussishkin Award for Literature
Menu JTA Search

Two Israel Authors Receive Ussishkin Award for Literature

Download PDF for this date

Two Israeli writers today received the annual Ussishkin Prize for the most valuable educational work in literature. Shlomo Lavie and Arieh Rafael each received 200 pounds in cash at a ceremony presided over by Dr. Abraham Granott, director of the Jewish National Fund, sponsor of the competition.

Mr. Lavie, 70. received the award for his novel “The Ascent of Shalom Laish.” He turned over his prize to Kibbutz Ain Harod in memory of his sons who died in the War of Liberation. Mr. Rafael, an employee of the Tel Aviv municipality, received the award for two books, “Steps of Redemption” and “Struggle for Redemption,” which in word and picture tell the story of Russian Zionism. Mr. Rafael will devote his prize money to further research.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund