18 Scholars and Scientists Receive Israel’s Annual State Prizes
Menu JTA Search

18 Scholars and Scientists Receive Israel’s Annual State Prizes

Download PDF for this date

Eighteen scholars and scientists and four institutions received this week-end Israel State prizes, granted each year on the occasion of Independence Day. The prizes, for 1, 000 pounds each and distributed by Minister of Education Zalman Aranne, went to the following:

Chief Rabbi Isaac Herzog, Rabbi J. L. Maimon, Rabbi Joseph Zvi Halevy–for Torah literature; Prof. Joseph Klausner, Dr. Ben Zion Dinur; Prof Yitzhak Baer, Dr. Yehezkal Kaufman, Dr. Gershon Shalon–for Jewish studies; Shmuel Agnon, Y.D. Berkowitz, Yaacov Cohen–for belles lettres; Prof. Martin Buber–for humanities; Mrs. Rachel Shazar–for social science; Dr. Selig Soskin, Prof. Bernard Zondek, Prof. Guilio Racah–for natural sciences; the Youth Aliyah department of the Jewish Agency and Prof. Dinur–for education, and Bezalal Art School,Habimah, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra–for the arts.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund