Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Murray Gurfein Elected President of United Hias Service

February 23, 1960
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Murray I. Gurfein, prominent New York attorney, was elected president of the United Hias Service, it was announced here today by the worldwide Jewish migration organization. Carlos L. Israels, outgoing president, and Ben Touster, a former president, were elected to the newly created post of associate chairmen of the board.

Mr. Gurfein is a member of the administrative committee of the American Jewish Committee and a leader of the United Jewish Appeal. He Was Chief of Intelligence for General Eisenhower’s Psychological Warfare Division during World War II. He witnessed the liberation of the concentration camps and gained first-hand knowledge of the problems of displaced persons. At the Nuremberg trials he served as an assistant to U.S. Chief Counsel Robert H. Jackson.

A former member of the New York State Temporary Commission on the Courts, Mr. Gurfein is a trustee of the Citizens Budget Commission and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. The United Hias Service is a beneficiary of the United Jewish Appeal.

Other elected officers are: Solomon Dingol, Adrian M. Easton, Louis Gallack, Herbert C. Kranzer, Hugo E. Rogers, Jacob J. Rosenblum, William Rosenwald and Saul Seidman, vice-presidents; Herbert C. Kranzer, treasurer; Max Ornstein and Dr. Harold M. Weinberg, associate treasurers; Abraham S. Wilk, secretary; Max Ogust, associate secretary; Edwin Rosenberg, chairman of the National Council; Daniel G. Ross, vice-chairman of the National Council; and James P. Rice, executive director.

Recommended from JTA