Hadassah Adopts $9,875,000 Budget; Elects Mrs. Kramarsky President
Menu JTA Search

Hadassah Adopts $9,875,000 Budget; Elects Mrs. Kramarsky President

Download PDF for this date

The four-day national convention of Hadassah concluded here today with the adoption of a budget of $9,875,000 for its 1960-61 program in Israel and the United States. Mrs. Siegfried Kramarsky, a national vice-president, was elected president succeeding Dr. Miriam K. Freund.

In a resolution adopted at the concluding session of the convention, the delegates defined the present responsibilities of the Zionist movement as follows:

“1. To seek imaginative and practical means for making the relationship between Israel and the Jews outside of Israel, significant and creative.

“2. To re-interpret the idea of the unity of the Jewish people in constructive and relevant terms.

“3. To assist Jewish youth in the Diaspora to understand their heritage and to assist those among them who seek personal fulfillment through aliya to achieve this objective.

“4. To include the learning of Hebrew in every Zionist education program.

“5. To foster efforts to interpret Israel’s problems and aspirations to the American people.

The convention expressed the hope that “the deliberations at the forthcoming national assembly of American Zionists and the World Zionist Congress will result in the successful formulation of such a program to the end that the entire Jewish people will be reinspire by its historic sense of mission and high purpose.”

The adopted budget provided $8,340,000 earmarked for Hadassah’s operations in Israel. The quotas set for Hadassah’s projects in Israel were $3,740,000 for the Hadassah Medical Organization; $25,000,000 for Youth Aliya; $1,000,000 for the continued construction of the $25,000,000 Hadassah-Hebrew University Medical Center now being completed on the western outskirts of Jerusalem; $700,000 for the Jewish National fund and $600,000 for Hadassah’s vocational education program in Israel.

National vice-presidents elected at the convention were Mrs. D. Leonard Cohen, Miss Loula D. Lasker, Mrs. Irving Mack, Mrs. Martin Lebedoff, Mrs. Louis E. Levinthal and Mrs. Carl Spector, Mrs. Mortimer Jacobson was elected national treasurer; Mrs. Max Schenk national secretary, and Mrs. Murray M. Shernoff national recording secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund