Convention of Reform Rabbis Elects Rabbi Feuer As President
Menu JTA Search

Convention of Reform Rabbis Elects Rabbi Feuer As President

Download PDF for this date

The Central Conference of American Rabbis concluded its 74th annual national convention here this weekend with resolutions supporting civil rights legislation in Congress and the Supreme Court’s ban on Bible reading and prayer in public schools, A resolution was also adopted urging that U. S. aid to Egypt he halted as long as President Nasser persists in building missiles for use against Israel and in using former Nazis to help him in his rocket program.

Rabbi Leon I. Feuer of Toledo was elected president of the organization of the Reform rabbis, Elected vice-president was Rabbi Jacob J. Weinstein of Chicago. He and Rabbi Feuer represented the CCAR on the Board of Trustees of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations, Reform Judaism’s National Federation of Synagogues. Other officers elected were: Rabbi Sidney M. Lefkowitz of Jacksonville, Fla., treasurer; Rabbi Jerome R. Malino of Danbury, Conn., recording secretary; and Rabbi Abraham D. Shaw of Baltimore, financial secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund