Prof. Bergmann, Two Other Israelis, Receive Israel’s Security Prizes
Menu JTA Search

Prof. Bergmann, Two Other Israelis, Receive Israel’s Security Prizes

Download PDF for this date

Prof. Ernst David Bergmann, who was chairman of Israel’s Atomic Energy Commission for 15 years, received Israel’s annual Defense Forces Prize at ceremonies here Friday over which Prime Minister Levi Eshkol presided. The Premier, who is also Minister of Defense, cited Dr. Bergmann for his overall “important contribution to the establishment and development of defense scientific research since Israel attained its independence.” Dr. Bergmann headed the Atomic Energy Commission from 1951 until his resignation three weeks ago.

Mr. Eshkol, at the same time, awarded the prize also to several other recipients for “important achievements in a vital field of security activity,” without identifying the specific nature of the activity. The others included a team of researchers, among them, Uri Even-Tov, an aeronautical engineer, and an Israeli naval officer, Michael Harel.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund