More British Parliamentarians Join in Move for Soviet Jews
Menu JTA Search

More British Parliamentarians Join in Move for Soviet Jews

Download PDF for this date

A number of prominent Britons, including a Nobel Laureate and several members of Parliament known for their friendliness to the Soviet Union, today joined 126 other members of Parliament who earlier this week co-sponsored a motion in the House of Commons, calling attention to the anti-Jewish discriminations in the USSR and requesting Moscow to treat Soviet Jewry on an equal footing with other minorities in that country.

Among the new signers of the motion are Michael Foot, John Mendelson and Ben Whittaker, all considered to be part of the Labor Party’s left wing. Others who joined the co-sponsors today were Philip Noel-Baker, a Laborite, who received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1959; Liberal Party leader Jeremy Thorpe; and author Norman St. John Stevas, a Conservative.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund