Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Michael Sacher, British Zionist, Philanthropist. Gets Hebrew U. Award

July 2, 1974
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Michael Sacher, the British Zionist leader, chairman of the Joint Israel Appeal and a member of the board of directors of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, received today the Hebrew University’s annual Solomon Public Prize at a ceremony on the university campus. President Ephraim Katzir and seven others received honorary doctorates at the ceremony.

Sacher’s citation hailed him as “worthy scion of a distinguished Anglo-Jewish family, faithful standard bearer of a tradition of service to the Jewish people, the Zionist ideal and its glorious realization–the State of Israel.” It also hailed his leadership during the Yom Kippur War. Sacher’s father, the late Harry Sacher, lived and worked in Jerusalem during the Mandate period and was associated with Hebrew University from its inception. An Institute for Legislative Research and Comparative Law was recently opened within the university’s law faculty in his name.

In addition to President Katzir, honorary degrees were presented to Mordechai Ardon, Israeli artist and principal of the Bezalel Art School; Philip David Sang, Chicago philanthropist; Dr. Regina Feigl of Brazil, a leader of South American Jewry; Charles E. Smith, Washington philanthropist; Prof. Arnaldo Dante Momigliano, professor of ancient history at University College, London; Prof. Clarence W. Efroymson, American philanthropist and professor emeritus of economics at Butler University, Indians, and Prof. Bernard Lewis, an expert on Islamic history who lives in Britain. Prof. Izaak M. Kolthoff of the United States, who was also to receive an honorary degree, could not attend.

Tel Aviv University awarded honorary degrees last week to Deputy Premier and Foreign Minister Yigal Allon; Nahum Gottman, an Israeli artist; Maurice Goldhaber, an American nuclear physicist; British philanthropist Leslie Porter and Zubin Mehta, musical advisor of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra.

Recommended from JTA