Prime Minister’s Award, Manger Awards Given Yiddish Artists
Menu JTA Search

Prime Minister’s Award, Manger Awards Given Yiddish Artists

Download PDF for this date

The Prime Minister’s Award for Yiddish writers has been awarded to the poet Mosh Yungmann of Kiryat Tivon near Haifa. The award was presented by former Premier Golda Meir at a ceremony in Sholem Aleichem House attended by many Yiddish writers and poets.

Meanwhile, Foreign Minister Yigal Allon has decided to award an annual prize in memory of the late Moshe Sharett, Israel’s first foreign minister and second premier. The award will go to a Foreign Ministry official for research or an essay on Sharett’s political activities or thoughts or research or essay advancing foreign ministry activities in the political or organizational field. The first award will be on the eighth day of Tammuz, the 10th anniversary of Sharett’s death.

The annual Itzik Manger awards for Yiddish writers were presented here previously in the presence of President Ephraim Katzir, Mrs. Meir and a large audience of poets, writers and lovers of Yiddish. The recipients were Prof. Dov Sedan, described by the awards jury as “the prince of Yiddish knowledge” and the poet and writer Rachel Koren, who received the Manger award for Yiddish creativity outside of Israel. Honorary awards were presented to the late A.M. Fuchs and the Yiddish stage artist, Yossef Bulloff. Each award has a cash prize of IL 5000. Former President Zalman Shazar, who heads the awards jury, was unable to attend because of illness.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund