Menu JTA Search

New Israeli Cabinet

Download PDF for this date

The new Israeli Cabinet consists of the following:

Premier, Menachem Begin; Foreign Minister, Moshe Dayan; Defense Minister, Ezer Weizman; Finance Minister, Simcha Ehrlich; Interior Minister, Dr. Yosef Burg (NRP); Minister of Commerce and Industry, Yigaal Horowitz; Minister of Agriculture, Ariel Sharon; Minister of Education, Zevulun Hammer (NRP); Minister of Housing, Gideon Patt; Minister of Energy and Infrastructure, Yitzhak Mudai; Minister of Religious. Affairs, Aharon Abu-Hatzeira (NRP); Minister of Absorption, David Levy; Minister of Health, Eliezer Shustak. In the new Cabinet the Police Ministry will be incorporated into the Ministry of Interior. The Justice, Welfare and Transportation and Communications ministries have been left open in hopes the Democratic Movement for Change will join the government coalition.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund