Itzik Manger Awards Presented
Menu JTA Search

Itzik Manger Awards Presented

Download PDF for this date

The Itzik Manger Awards for 1977 for Yiddish prose and poetry were awarded last night in a festive ceremony at Habimah Hall. The recipients were Hirsh Osherowitz for his writings in Israel, Yehuda Elberg of Canada for his Yiddish writings abroad and Yaacov Tzvi Shargal for his poems written in Yiddish in Israel as an Israeli.

The ceremony was attended by President Ephraim Katzir who is honorary president of the Itzik Manger Awards Committee. Katzir delivered an address in Yiddish which received a thunderous acclaim by the audience which filled the hall to capacity. Mrs. Golda Meir awarded the prizes to the winners. Maariv editor Shalom Rosenfeld, chairman of the Awards Committee, was also chairman of the event.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund