5 New Members on JTA Board: Fox Re-elected President
Menu JTA Search

5 New Members on JTA Board: Fox Re-elected President

Download PDF for this date

Martin S.Fox, who was re-elected president of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency for a fourth one-year term, announced the election of five new members to the JTA Board of Directors. They are Robert Adelstein of Denver, Prof. Marcus Arkin of Johannesburg, Irwin S. Field of Los Angeles, Norman Jacobson of New York and Harriet Zimmerman of Atlanta.

In addition, Fox announced the re-election of William M. Landau as chairman of the Board, Robert H. Arnow as chairman of the Executive Committee and Raymond Epstein, Philip Slomovitz, Melvin M. Swig, and Marshall Weinberg as vice-presidents. Also re-elected were Julius Berman, secretary, and Abraham Goodman, treasurer.

Robert Adelstein is a member of the Board of the Allied Jewish Federation of Denver, a Trustee of the National Jewish Hospital of Denver, and a delegate to the Large City Budgeting Conference (LCBC). He is also active in several other local and national Jewish organizations.


Prof. Marcus Arkin, Director-General of the South African Zionist Federation, was formerly head of the Dept. of Economics of Rhodes University, Grahamstown, S. Africa, where he was also Dean of the Faculty of Social Science. He is the author of several books on economics and on the history of Zionism. He has written numerous articles for Jewish and general publications in South Africa and other countries. He is chairman of the Association of Jewish Communal Professional Executives of So. Africa and a member of the scientific advisory board of the Institute for Inter-disciplinary Research at Tel Aviv University.

Irwin S. Field is immediate past president and honorary national chairman of the United Jewish Appeal. From 1978-80, he was UJA’s national chairman and in directing the nation-wide campaign effort was a moving force in the American Jewish community’s acceptance of Project Renewal as a vital new campaign responsibility. He is a vice president of the Jewish Federation Council of Los Angeles, a member of the Jewish Agency Board of Governors, and serves on the executive committee of the JDC and the United Israel Appeal.

Norman Jacobson is a member of the Board of HIAS and the Jewish National Fund. He is on the Board of Trustees of Israel Bonds and active in other Jewish organizations. He is a vice president of the real estate firm of Swig, Weiler and Arnow.


Harriet Zimmerman is a member of the National Women’s division Board of UJA and was the 1979-81 Women’s Division campaign co-chairman in Atlanta. She serves on the Executive Board of the American Israel Public Affairs Committee, the American Jewish Historical Society, the Joint Distribution Committee, and the Board of Trustees of the American Friends of Tel Aviv University. She is also a member of the Board of Governors of the American Jewish Committee and the Anti-Defamation League, and a Board member of the Atlanta Jewish Federation.

In making the official announcement of the elections which were held at the annual JTA Board of Directors meeting in New York on June 8, Fox stated; “All five new members are deeply involved in Jewish communal affairs and devoted to the cause of the Jewish people in this country and throughout the world. Their long standing contributions to both causes will further provide the Jewish Telegraphic Agency with their manifold talents and expertise to assure its continued success in providing Jewish communities worldwide with news and information of vital interest and concern to all.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund