Bronfman Elected to JTA Board; Fox is Re-elected President
Menu JTA Search

Bronfman Elected to JTA Board; Fox is Re-elected President

Download PDF for this date

Edgar Bronfman, president of the World Jewish Congress, was elected to the Board of Directors of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, it was announced by Martin Fox who was re-elected for a sixth one-year term as president of the JTA. Fox also announced the election of the following, as officers of the JTA for a one-year term:

William Landau as chairman of the Board; Robert Arnow as chairman of the Executive Committee; Raymond Epstein, Ben Zion Leuchter, Melvin Swig, and Marshall Weinberg as vice presidents; Julius Berman as secretary; and William Frost as treasurer.

Bronfman, president and chief executive officer of Joseph Seagrams and Sons, Inc., has long been involved in Jewish affairs. In addition to his involvement with the WJCongress, he is on the governing boards of the American Technion Society, American Jewish Congress, American Jewish Committee, Anti-Defamation League of B’nai B’rith, United Jewish Appeal, Federation of Jewish Philanthropies of Greater New York, and is a trustee of Mt. Sinai Hospital. Bronfman is also active in numerous civic, political and philanthropic affairs.

The elections were held at the annual meeting of the JTA Board of Directors last month in New York.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund