4 Jewish Legislators Survive Landslide Victory of Conservatives
Menu JTA Search

4 Jewish Legislators Survive Landslide Victory of Conservatives

Download PDF for this date

The four Jewish members of the Canadian House of Commons survived Tuesday’s landslide victory of the Progressive Conservative Party in Canada’s general elections.

They are: David Orlikow, of Winnipeg, a member of the New Democratic Party; Robert Kaplan of York Center, Toronto, Solicitor General in the out-going Liberal government; Herbert Gray, of Windsor, Ont., who also held Cabinet posts in the Liberal government; and David Berger, a Liberal of Montreal Laurier.

There were no specifically Jewish issues in the election which ended more than two decades of Liberal Party government. The Canadian Jewish Congress had informed the candidates of all parties of the issues of Jewish concern such as Israel, Soviet Jewry, Jews in Arab lands, anti-hate legislation and Nazi war criminals living in Canada.

Brian Mulroney, leader of the Progressive Conservatives who will take office as Prime Minister on September 17, has expressed himself strongly in favor of Israel and for tougher measures against war criminals. Associates of Mulroney have favored strengthening anti-hate legislation.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund