3 Appointed to the Order of Canada
Menu JTA Search

3 Appointed to the Order of Canada

Download PDF for this date

Among the 70 people appointed to the Order of Canada, the country’s highest distinction, are Milton Harris, named Officer; Benjamin Kayfetz and Alan Rose, as Members.

Harris is chairman and president of the Harris Steel Group Inc. of Toronto and immediate past president of Canadian Jewish Congress (CJC). He has held numerous positions on local and international organizations and directorships on such boards as those of Air Canada, Livingstone Industries and Canadair Ltd.

Kayfetz recently retired as executive director of the Community Relations Committee of the CJC, having served with Congress since 1947. Kayfetzis currently president of the Toronto Jewish Historical Society.He has written and writes widely in local and international Jewish publications, including the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

Rose, executive vice president of the CJC since 1977, is member of the Governing Board of the World Jewish Congress, the World Jewish Congress Compliance Committee on the Helsinki Final Act, World Praesidium for Soviet Jewry, and Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany Inc. In 1981, Rose was awarded the United States Presidential Citation of Honor as a concentration camp liberator.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund