Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

The 28th Government of Israel

July 7, 1999
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Following are the ministers (with their party affiliation) who were confirmed by the Knesset on Tuesday to become the 28th government of Israel:

Ehud Barak (One Israel) — Prime Minister and Defense Minister

David Levy (One Israel) — Foreign Minister

Avraham Shochat (One Israel) — Finance Minister

Yossi Beilin (One Israel) — Justice Minister

Shlomo Ben-Ami (One Israel) — Public Security Minister

Benjamin Ben-Eliezer (One Israel) — Communications Minister, Deputy Prime Minister

Dalia Itzik (One Israel) — Environment Minister

Shimon Peres (One Israel) — Regional Cooperation Minister

Haim Ramon (One Israel) — Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office, responsible for Jerusalem Affairs

Eliyahu Yishai (Shas) — Labor and Social Affairs Minister

Eli Suissa (Shas) — National Infrastructure Minister

Shlomo Benizri (Shas) — Health Minister

Yitzhak Cohen (Shas) — Religious Affairs Minister

Yossi Sarid (Meretz) — Education Minister

Ran Cohen (Meretz) — Industry and Trade Minister

Natan Sharansky (Yisrael Ba’Aliyah) — Interior Minister

Yitzhak Mordechai (Center) — Transportation Minister

Yitzhak Levy (NRP) — Housing Minister

Barak is retaining control over four ministerial portfolios that he may distribute when and if he expands his Cabinet, as he is expected to do. The portfolios are: Immigrant Absorption, Agriculture, Science and Tourism.

Six of the 18 ministers were also Cabinet members at one time or another in the outgoing government of Benjamin Netanyahu: Yishai, Suissa, Sharansky, Mordechai, David Levy and Yitzhak Levy.

Recommended from JTA