Top Jewish donors prominent on Trump inauguration committee


WASHINGTON (JTA) — A number of top Jewish Republican donors are on President-elect Donald Trump’s inauguration committee.

Nine out of the 20 names listed on the transition team’s announcement released Monday are Jewish, and several of them are on the Republican Jewish Coalition board. The committee plans and fundraises for the inauguration. Incoming presidents typically reserve spots on the committee for their most loyal donors.

Lewis Eisenberg, an investor who was the finance chairman for the campaign, will retain that role on the inauguration committee as one of two finance co-chairman. Trump reportedly is considering Eisenberg for Department of Commerce secretary.

Among 17 vice-chairs on the committee are Sheldon and Miriam Adelson, the casino magnate and his wife who boosted Trump’s campaign in its final days with as much as $30 million; Mel Sembler, a Florida real estate developer; Ron Weiser, a Michigan real estate developer; Steve Wynn, like Adelson and Trump a casino builder and operator; Elliott Broidy, a venture capitalist from Southern California; Laurie Perlmutter, whose husband, Isaac, is an Israeli-American entertainment mogul, and Gail Icahn, wife of activist investor Carl Icahn.

The statement said more names may be added to the list.

Recommended from JTA