Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

2 American Scientists Awarded First $35,000 Harvey Prizes

October 24, 1972
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Two American scientists were awarded the first $35,000 Harvey Prizes by the Haifa Technion at ceremonies last night at the home of President Zalman Shazar. The recipients were Prof. William J. Kolf, 60 of the University of Utah, and Prof. Claude E. Shannon, 56, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prof. Kolf was cited for inventing an artificial kidney machine and Prof. Shannon for his mathematical theory of communication.

The Harvey prizes carry an additional $15,000 towards a month’s stay in Israel by the winners and their families. The prizes were established through a $1 million contribution by Leo M. Harvey, of Los Angeles, chairman of the Harvey Aluminum Co. and a member of the Technion Board of Governors. The award ceremonies were attended by Premier Golda Meir and members of her Cabinet.

Recommended from JTA